Child pages
  • Samvera Code of Conduct Working Group Charter
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Scope & Objectives

Samvera’s code of conduct and anti-harassment policy, along with its body of community helpers, has established community norms around conduct at conferences, meetings, and in online channels. Meanwhile, peer communities such as Code4Lib and LDCX have found, and filled, gaps in their codes of conduct. In order for the Samvera community to continue to be welcoming and inclusive, we propose forming a new Working Group to analyze these conduct-related advancements in peer communities in short order and recommend improvements to Samvera’s code of conduct and related instruments and bodies.

It is crucial that this WG wrap up its work in advance of Samvera Connect 2019 so that any new models can be vetted, approved, put in place, and prepared for before Connect kicks off on October 21st, 2019.

Scope includes the following:

  1. Analyze Code4Lib and LDCX codes of conduct
  2. Consider the role of the Samvera Community Helpers going forward in this work
  3. Recommend changes

Deliverables & Timeframe

The key deliverable for SCOCWG is revised and/or augmented Code of Conduct-related documentation.

SCOCWG will begin its work in September 2019 and wrap up by October 2019.

Meeting Times & Communication Channels

Note that following current best practices within Samvera, interest and working groups should use an existing communication channel unless and until it becomes clear that a dedicated channel is needed. This section should specify which existing channel(s) will be used: e.g., samvera-tech, samvera-partners, samvera-community@googlegroups.com. When using a shared channel, individual working groups should start the subject line with their name in []s, such as [archives] for the Archives Working Group. If and when a dedicated channel is needed, the new channel should be well publicized and open to any interested subscribers/participants in the community.

The SCOCWG will use the samvera-community and samvera-tech mailing lists, using “[scocwg]” as a subject prefix. The group will meet every X via some channel.

Times: 

Tuesday, Sept 3, - 11AM PST/ 2PM EST 

Tuesday, Sept 10 - 10AM PST/ 1PM EST

Tuesday, Sept 17 - 11AM PST/ 2PM EST

Monday, Sept 23 - 10AM PST/ 1PM EST

Tuesday, Oct 1 - 10AM PST/ 1PM EST

Members

Note that Working Groups must have participants from three different Partners. Note that all participants should accept that the materials to which they contribute may be released under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

  • Facilitator: Jessica Hilt (UC San Diego)
  • Rosalyn Metz (Emory)
  • Tom Johnson (UC Santa Barbara)
  • Brian McBride (Utah)
  • Julie Hardesty (Indiana)
  • your name here (your institution here)
  • ...


Resources

Meeting Notes

  • list of links (to be populated by facilitator when WG begins meeting)


  • No labels

1 Comment

  1. Open questions/issues for the charter authors to resolve:

    1. Should the WG be recommending changes or making the changes themselves?
      1. If they are recommending, to whom do the recommendations go? Steering? Partners?
      2. If they are making changes, the group ought to have sufficient community representation to be empowered to do so.
    2. Decide on frequency of meetings based on members' availability.
    3. Set up some zoom or bluejeans or whatever. Opportunity for WG facilitator or another member to offer up their institution's videoconf tool of choice.
    4. Membership: how important is it for the WG to include someone intimately involved with Connect 2019 planning (preferably someone at WashU?)?
      1. How about someone from Steering?